Tag Archives: zombie

Hob’s Review of White Trash Zombie Unchained (White Trash Zombie #6) by Diana Rowland

27

Yes I Goblinized the cover lol

White Trash Zombie Unchained (White Trash Zombie #6)

by Diana Rowland

 

Paperback, 336 pages

Expected publication: September 5th 2017 by DAW

 

This is the sixth book in the series so it will have some spoilers. You have been warned!

OK first spoiler zombies are real. Psst don’t tell anyone! Angle ….er I mean Angel is a poor white trash girl with lots of potential that just wants to use brains, for the betterment of society. But the brains she uses are not always her own. Yes, Angel is a zombie that works as a morgue tech and is just starting her first year at community college.  She is also a member of the Tribe a zombie organization working for the safety of all zombies.

 

That should be enough to get you up to date on Angel. And where I am coming from with the review. For this book, I received an E-ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I love the covers for all the books in this series but this is my favorite so far. Even though going with the title the gators should be unchained. For the first 5 books I listened to the audiobook and I loved the narration. But I don’t know if it was me actually reading this one or if the author has just gotten better but the quick joking dialog with some of her friends both ones in the know about her “Z” situation and ones that don’t felt more natural and flowed better than in previous books.

 

That dialog is also just great dialog plain and simple. As for this story, the threat of a real Zombie breakout amped up the tension to a much greater scale than previous books which I liked. I won’t actually give any spoilers for this book but the tension gets pretty high. It’s not that hard to figure it all out but it was fun to ride along even though I could see many of the reveals coming early. And I have to say it was a warm fuzzy ending.

 

FINAL THOUGHTS

Great Dialog really brought out the personality of Angel for me more than in the previous books. And what a great personality it is. I admit I would love to meet a girl like her, well maybe one that ate less brains. But my fictiophilia suffering aside it was a fun read. I am going to give White Trash Zombie Unchained 4.75 stars

 

Get a copy of White Trash Zombie Unchained

  1. Amazon
  2. Audible
  3. Barnes & Noble
  4. Kobo
  5. Apple iBooks
  6. Google Play
  7. Abebooks
  8. Book Depository

Hob’s review of The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey

The Girl with All the Gifts

***THE BLURB***

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her “our little genius”.

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

girl-with-all-the-gifts

The Cover is pretty plain but it is pretty powerful when you look at it after you have read the book. The narration was really excellent. I can’t think of anyone that could have done a better job.

Just reading the blurb you know more about this book than I did when I started it. I knew absolutely nothing of what it was about I had heard people saying it was good. But if I am completely honest the main reason I got it is that the Author is quoted on Dyrk Ashton’s  book cover extolling its virtues, and since Dyrk is a friend and I loved his book  I wanted to see what M.R. Carrey had written.

When it first started I was drawing a lot of parallels to an anthology I read a year or two ago called Through the Eyes of the Undead   ( Very good by the way and free right now on KU)

But it soon went far afield from anything that can be done in a short story. Now I need to explain something. I am a father. My kids are the most important things in my life. I would do anything for them. I even stayed in a bad relationship for 22 years (17 bad years) because I would not be one of the guys that isn’t around to talk to his kids after school every day. The reason I tell you this is so I can try to explain the anguish I feel when I read about kids in harm’s way or emotionally messed up. So I have to admit that during the first 2 or 3 hours of this AB I was pretty much continuously holding back tears.  And I loved it!

I fell in love with Melanie from the very first minute of the book. The other characters were not that well fleshed out but most of the book is from Melanie’s POV anyway. And that is my only criticism of the book.

There are some pretty scary scenes  but nothing to bad. While not the best bed time story for the toddlers, for a zombie story I would say it’s OK for the younger teens.  It is a hell of a lot less than any thing you would see on a episode of The Walking Dead.

FINAL THOUGHTS

It is a great read. It pulled on my heart strings so hard at times I thought it would get pulled right out. It doesn’t matter if you don’t like zombie books this is something I think most of the people that visit my blog would love. And OMG what an ending I did not expect that! Just kidding……. or am I? HAHA now you will have to get it just to see if there really is a surprise ending. My work is done here. I give The Girl with All the Gifts 5 out of 5 Goblins 5-star

audible.com

Amazon.com